oh, so THAT’S what nike was trying to say.

NOW I get it. As a closet procrastinator, those three little words have always eluded me.

JUST. DO. IT.

Personally, I think it would speak to me better if they added a tagline like “Sometime in the near future, when the mood strikes”. 

But if I’m going to call myself a “recovering” procrastinator, I’d better put my money where my mouth is.

So, I DID IT.

I have been putting off a 9-mile run since the weekend. I haven’t ran that many miles in a row in almost two years and I was feeling, well, really intimidated. So much self-doubt and fear. Am I fit enough to do this? Will I bonk half-way through? What if I have to pee? What if this is just too hard? What if I’m too old?

I was all set to just.do.it. on Sunday right after church. I gave myself a pep talk and some mental high-fives. But then I fell asleep 5 minutes after the sermon started and was still tired when we got home. I needed a nap to recover from my 30 minute snooze in church.*

*Pastor Dee, if you’re reading this. It’s not you, it’s me. I won’t let it happen again, I promise. 

So I got my White-Out and moved my long run on the calendar from Sunday to Monday. I blocked out my lunch break on my Outlook calendar. I was going to just.do.it.

I always like to stay hydrated on runs longer than five miles (it’s probably more of a mental need than a physiological one, but it makes me feel better. Alright, I’ll admit it: I like to pretend that my watered-down Gatorade is “magic fuel” that will take me the distance. Why does this blog give me verbal vomit? It remains a mystery).

Anyway, I am experimenting with different hydration packs because I’m not 100% satisfied with the belt system I’ve been using. For this fateful run, I decided to revert back to a trusty old standby: the Camelbak. I’ve loved this system for years for hiking and biking, so I figured it’d be great for long runs, too.

I was completely done for after just one mile of listening to the loud sloshing of liquid and the painful rubbing of the straps on my exposed skin (I run in tanktops year-round because I run “hot”.)*

*Disclaimer: not to be confused with LOOKING hot. That is an entirely different camp in which I do not fall.

This was just not working for me. I knew that if I kept this up for the full nine miles, my skin would be a sorely chaffed mess. I made the tough decision – I’ve very rarely ever stopped a run – to turn around and go home. It wasn’t easy to do, but my mom asked me from day one of this journey to please listen to my body. And I always listen to my mom.*

*Almost always.

It’s hard to tell from this self-portrait, but here I am with the CamelBak that was out to get me and foil my best laid plans.

And so, we come to Tuesday. The very last possible day I could do this run before it would start to interfere with my NEXT scheduled long run. I really needed to just.do.it.

I planned it for first thing in the morning. But then I started working on a deadline, and found a reason not to go.

Lunchtime! That is when I would do this run. But then I started working on something else, and found a reason not to go.

After work! Yes! This was going to be the best time to do this. Then monsoon rains started coming and I really started to regret not going first thing in the morning.

But, guess what? I still DID IT. The events leading up to me finally getting my rear in gear may not have been my shiniest moments, but I am still proud of myself for facing my fears head-on and coming out the other end victorious.

Sometimes it’s the little things that are the biggest things.

Ahhhhh, ice, ice, baby.

On my to-do list for today? Give myself AND our nation a big high-five! Happy 4th of July, everyone!

What have you got planned? I’d love to hear from you!

 

7 thoughts on “oh, so THAT’S what nike was trying to say.

  1. I’m planning to lounge in bed and read today!! Big Daddy is home so he’s on parental duty for the day. Which really involves drinking beer, mowing the lawn and pretending to keep an eye on the kids while they actually play across the street at the neighbors. Yay, independence! And? Super impressed with you, missy! I’m just a procrastinator. I need to get on the recovering process. Is there a 12 step program? I have a feeling I’m going to need a program.

  2. So…those ice bags on your knees. Tell me about the knee thing, because I have a knee thing, and I’m trying to figure out if I’m going to just have a knee thing no matter what as I go up in distance. Your knee thing advice would be appreciated.

    • Ok, here’s the truth: until yesterday, I had never iced my knees. Not for any of my marathons or any of my training. I don’t have a knee problem (though I wear a “sci-lock” band for a hip/pelvic issue – Mom, I know you’re reading this, so there, I’m “listening to my body” :)). Anyway, the only reason why I iced yesterday that my hub (also a runner) did it the other day after a 13 mile run and has been raving about how it’s helped his recovery time. My knees always throb for a few days after a long run (sorry, Mom) but I was UH-MAZED at how much icing helped me. I would DEFINITELY recommend it, and I will be doing it every time now. I iced for about 20-25 minutes, one time. Totally helped. Also, I’ve seen some patch thing on Skinny Runner over at skinnyrunner.com that she used on her knees a few weeks ago (she has knee problems). I will try to find the post where she mentions the name of the little patches and link it back to you. Good luck!

Don't leave a reply tomorrow when you could leave a reply today!

