that’s pinteresting, volume two: chicken enchiladas.

Pull up a chair and get yourself all caught up with volume one.

All set?

It’s time now for another exciting installment of That’s Pinteresting:
CHICKEN ENCHILADA style!

Will all of these posts be about food, you ask? Quite possibly. Girl loves to eat.

Does it still count if I found the recipe but had my lovely hub cook the meal, you may be wondering? My game, my rules. It stays!

Did he do the dishes, too, inquiring minds want to know? Do you really need to ask?
Is that a rhetorical question?

I found this recipe from this site. In the spirit of full disclosure, I didn’t realize until AFTER I pinned it that it was a Martha Stewart recipe. But truthfully? I don’t have a problem with her. I kind of think the stint she did in the Big House has helped keep her real.

But I digress.

Here’s the picture of the Domestic Diva’s version:

*Note to self: don’t forget the folded kitchen towel for staging purposes!

Here’s the original recipe, with my modifications in italics (I haven’t figured out how to make text another color):

Ingredients

  • Coarse salt and ground pepper (finally, a recipe that lets you just wing it with the spices)
  • 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (we only had two, so that’s what we used)
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil, such as safflower (what’s safflower?)
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons minced canned chipotles in adobo
  • 1 can (14 1/2 ounces) reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 8 corn tortillas (6-inch)
  • 1/2 cup grated Monterey Jack cheese (2 ounces)(we used Mexican blend cheese because it was on sale at the store)
  • *NOTE: We (alright, John) also added some cotija cheese because, come on. Everything’s better with cotija cheese. 

Here are a few “behind the scenes” shots as we John went along:

Action shot! Look at those chicken-shredding skills! Impressive.

Getting loaded. (And also, filling the tortilla shells). ba da bum!

All set for a bit o’ baking! I can neither confirm nor deny that we may or may not have used more cheese than the recipe called for.

Ding! Time’s up!*
*Disclaimer: Alright, confirmed. We did in fact use more cheese than the recipe called for.

Look at that expert plating! Eat your heart out, Martha.

The final verdict? Pretty darn good. Even passed the 5-year-old test (though we did reserve some non-chipotled chicken for her sensitive little palate).

For next time, we would at least triple the chipotle in adobo – it wasn’t spicy at all – and we’d add a touch more salt. And also, like many casserole-esque dishes like this, it was even better on Day Two.

P.S. Don’t think I’ve forgotten that I owe you a running update! Just because I’m a procrastinator, doesn’t mean I haven’t crossed a few runs off my list. Stay tuned….

Have you tried anything that you’ve found on Pinterest? I’d love to hear from you! 

13 thoughts on “that’s pinteresting, volume two: chicken enchiladas.

  1. That is a really good recipe. Definitely a keeper. The Avocado is always a must but have to admit I’d stick with the more traditional margarita or Corona over the Pear cider. Is that baby fork I used?

  2. Totally need to find you on Pinterest…I’m addicted too! Agree with the flavorings… many of the Pinterest chicken recipes I’ve tried are blaaaaaaaaannnnndddd. Nothing worse than boring chicken! 🙂 These (and the chowdahh) look yummy!

    • Thank you so much! I promise my next Pinteresting post won’t be food related. 🙂 I do have other interests, ya know! (just barely). You can find me on Pinterest under “beginfromhere”. Thanks again!

  3. Funny 🙂 I like your directions and this looks yummy. I don’t eat meat but I love making Mexican for my meat-eater. Do you make tamales too? I posted a recipe on my page for that recently. When I make chicken enchiladas, I shred the meat and then add some spices and enchilada sauce and saute that for a moment, let it cool, and fill the enchilada that way. Juicy. For myself I make cheese/chile enchiladas or sometimes potato enchiladas in which I cheat and use mashed up french fries. Mmmm. 😉

  4. Pingback: that’s (patriotically) pinteresting, volume 3: american flag pancakes. | just begin from here.

Don't leave a reply tomorrow when you could leave a reply today!

