taking a run down marathon lane – #5

If you’re new here, you can find out more about my goal here.

If you thought you were stopping by to get an update on the chickens and have frankly had enough of my running shenanigans, no hard feelings. We can still be friends.

To get us all caught up, here are the recaps for marathons 123 and 4.

As far as #5 goes, apparently I ran this one just 22 short days after #4 although I have no recollection of doing these two so close together.

I’d love to say that this is selective memory loss, reserved only for the subject of running, but the truth is? I have the worst memory on the planet.

One time, I was co-chairing an auction for my daughter’s preschool. We met the auctioneer over breakfast one day. Just one short month later, we met him for lunch. I
re-introduced myself as if I had never met him in my life and when everyone looked at me like I was certifiably cray-cray, I started arguing the case that I had NEVER met him before. In my life.

I am getting way off track, and I probably shouldn’t have admitted any of that in public, but just like my memory, I’m also a bit of a train wreck when it comes to starting a story and not stopping even though I know that all warning signs point to TURN BACK, TURN BACK and I just keep barreling down the cliff with a faulty brake system.

But I digress. Here’s my 5th marathon report:

Oct 23, 2005 (I guess, although this is still in question and I will get to the bottom of this)
Nike Women’s Marathon
San Francisco, CA

If I had to take my bet to Vegas, I’d say that I chose to do another race so soon because those clever folks at Nike entice women with Tiffany necklaces at the end of the race. No joke. Instead of bulky medals that get tucked in a drawer never to be seen again, you get A REAL TIFFANY NECKLACE IN THE LITTLE BLUE BOX.

Here’s what the necklace looked like the year I ran:

That was one sparkly carrot I was willing to chase down.

The icing on the cake is that these little post-race prizes are handed out on silver trays being held by firemen dressed in white gloves and tuxedos.

I guess they think this will appeal to women, too, but I found it more embarrassing than rewarding. What lady in her right mind wants to receive a gift from a handsome man dressed to impress when she is dripping with sweat and has a face like a bloated turnip?

No thanks, Nike. A for effort, though. 

Other than this little error in judgment, those folks with the swoosh sure know how to do it right. From the race expo, to the inspiring signs at each mile, to the great race support, it was a really well-done event.

My mom went with me to add to the “Girl Power” of the weekend and was a great supporter. Somehow, I am once again suspiciously without my own race day photos to share with you, but you are just going to have to take my word for it.

And if you don’t believe me, just reference the lightning-fast race time above. I think I set some new records with this one.

Alright, fine. Here’s a photo I just took of my race shirt. I put my pink polka dot pants in the picture for authentication. NOW do you believe me?

Good times, good times.

Speaking of good times (ba da bum!) check this out: I had a 3-mile run yesterday and was almost 4.5 minutes faster than when I ran this same course last week!

Like I’ve said before, I’m slow, and I don’t care. Not one single bit. I’m getting faster (relatively speaking) because I’m getting STRONGER. And that is a pretty cool feeling.

What’ve you got going on today? I’d love to hear from you!

14 thoughts on “taking a run down marathon lane – #5

  1. My philosophy on running is that it isn’t the time it takes but that you take the time to run. I am so impressed that you are doing this (at our age).

  2. When I saw the men dressed up, before I read on to your feedback, I thought…how awful! These men look great and these women, well, they just ran a marathon! I appreciate the polka dot authentification as I was getting suspicious of the whole charade 😉

    Today has been very productive! 1. I am having a good hair day. 2. Emma Mae went straight down for her nap after school. 3. I bought some hummus and have nearly polished the whole thing off. 4. And in all seriousness, I had a mtg to prepare for a seminar I am conducting tomorrow and another in regards to my work with the local Chamber of Commerce.

    Whew. I’m taking my break with your blog 😉

  3. Who doesn’t love that little blue box from Tiffany? So you know I totally ran in the NYC Marathon about 20 years ago. I lived in NYC and was stopped at First Ave and 82nd Street trying to get home from breakfast out. The first hour of watching and cheering the runners was pretty cool and then I started to get cold and tired. So I asked the police officer how I could get across the street besides waiting another 3 hours for the crowd of runners to thin. He told me to start running at a diagonal til I got across the street. But to be careful not to trip anyone or anything. So see? Totally participated in the NYC marathon.

  4. Just wanted to say hello! I found your blog through runsforcookies and I totally love it! I too live in the Seattle area and was excited to see that you do too! YAY! I look forward to following your postings. 🙂

    • Hi Melanie! Thank you so much for stopping by! Oh good, so you can commiserate with this not-so-summer weather we’re having … sigh…. oh well, it’s “refreshing!” 🙂 Thank you again for visiting!

  5. Pingback: taking a run down marathon lane – #6: THE PR EDITION!!! | just begin from here.

  6. Pingback: taking a run down marathon lane – #7 | just begin from here.

Don't leave a reply tomorrow when you could leave a reply today!

