that’s pinteresting, volume 1: corn chowder.

I’ve been pinning my little heart out for quite some time now, getting inspired by the pretty pictures and DIY possibilities, but that’s usually where it ends.

(I’ve mentioned my teensy weensy little problem with procrastination, right?)

Well, no more! From now on (on a semi-regular basis, or when I get around to it) I will be trying out the recipes/crafts/dance moves* I find on Pinterest and sharing my experiences with you lucky folks.

*Disclaimer: there’s not an ice-cube’s-chance-in-h-e-double-hockey-sticks I will be A) pinning dance moves or B) sharing them on the interweb.

Let’s get started!

I had a hankering for CORN CHOWDER. Here’s what happened next:

I found this recipe from this Pinterest site.

Doesn’t it look tasty?

Here’s the original recipe, with my modifications in italics (I haven’t figured out how to make text another color):

2 slices applewood-smoked bacon (I might have doubled tripled this amount.)

3/4 cup sliced green onions, divided

1/4 cup chopped celery

1 pound yellow summer squash, chopped (ok, I don’t really cook that often and don’t know all the fancy terms. I couldn’t figure out what “summer squash” was so I bought a butternut squash and used that instead. Then I googled summer squash.)

***Oh, and I also added 4 little yellow potatoes because it just seemed wrong not to have potatoes in chowder. Maybe that’s just me. And my love of the potato.

1 pound frozen white and yellow baby corn kernels, thawed and divided (accidentally used a 2 pound bag and also forgot to thaw them. I am doing great!)

2 1/4 cups 1% low-fat milk, divided (we drink skim, so that’s what I used)

1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme (we used thyme straight from the garden. hey, look at us all green-thumby!)

1/2 teaspoon salt (does anyone actually measure salt? I don’t.)

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper (same for pepper)

1/8 teaspoon salt (ditto)

1/4 cup (1 ounce) shredded extra-sharp cheddar cheese (give or take a mouthful)

Here’s how ours turned out:

Let’s take a quiet moment of reflection to admire my camera phone skills.

((((((((((((  *************  ))))))))))))))))   <———- (those are soothing waves)

The taste? GOOD. Even better on Day 2 and we didn’t even have any bacon left by then.

And the best part? I showed Olivia (our 5-year-old) the pictures side-by-side. I asked her which one she thought looked best. Her reply?

Yours, Mommy, because it has more bacon.”

Hello! That’s my girl!

Have you tried anything that you’ve found on Pinterest? I’d love to hear from you! 

15 thoughts on “that’s pinteresting, volume 1: corn chowder.

  1. Looks YUMMY Melisa!
    You’re right! Chowder needs potatoes.
    Recently read a quote that said “I finally made something I PINNED!”
    Love that Olivia chose your soup!! 😉
    xo

  2. The only thing I’ve made from Pinterest is roasted garbanzo beans. I do like to use it as an idea book for my house. 🙂

  3. New lurker here: I had to start a whole board of “Stuff I’ve actually MADE” so I could keep track of what worked. Sadly, since I started pinning, I’ve decided I have to get some weight off, so all my fun stuff on Pinterest has to stay out of sight.

  4. Olivia is correct–anything with MORE bacon is better! I found a recipe on Pinterest, still not sure how that new fangled thing works, but this recipe has Biscoff cookies for a crust, and the filling is a no-bake cheesecake with Biscoff spread (which is just like Cookie Butter–YUM!). I haven’t tried it yet, but it’s going to be a treat at our Fourth of July party!

    P.S. Found you through Katie’s (runsforcookies) blog! I think you’re great too!

  5. Pingback: that’s pinteresting, volume two: chicken enchiladas. | just begin from here.

  6. Pingback: that’s (patriotically) pinteresting, volume 3: american flag pancakes. | just begin from here.

Don't leave a reply tomorrow when you could leave a reply today!

