taking a run down marathon lane – #4

If you’ve stopped by before, first of all – thank you! You’ve probably already heard me go on a time or twenty about the crazy great idea I have of running 50 marathons by age 50.

If you’re new here, you can find out more about my goal here.

If you stopped by thinking this is a food blog, or a photography blog, or a professional running blog, my condolences for the little time-waster there. No hard feelings if you quietly move along.

To get us all caught up, here are the recaps for marathons 1, 2 and 3.

Poor #4 has to follow the Ironman re-cap, so he’s feeling a little nervous. Let’s make him feel welcome, shall we?*

*Disclaimer: why am I referring to my marathons as “he”? I have no idea.

My 4th marathon was my very first trail race. It was a 50K which is TECHNICALLY just over 31 miles – not 26.2 – but no need to brag, so let’s just call it a “marathon.”

October 1, 2005
Baker Lake 50K Trail Run
Concrete, WA

After finishing the Ironman, I really wasn’t sure what I wanted to do for races. It was like a big high followed by a “what should I do now?” blah feeling. I sort of compare it to having a baby, except the blisters and chaffing aren’t nearly as rewarding as a precious little bundle of joy.

But that part about needing a bit of time to pass before ever considering doing this crazy thing again? Yeah, that part is similar.

I knew I was done with Ironmans. One and done, please and thank you. But I started to get the running itch again, so I decided to sign up for a 50K, what the heck.

Once again, I am totally lacking in the photo department to prove to you that I did this thing. You’ll just have to take my word for it and trust that just because I COULD do a botched Photoshop job and fake the stats above, I didn’t.

Besides, if I was going to fake some stats, I’d make myself much faster.

Here’s what some of the course looked like, though, to help put you into a “being there” frame of mind:

It was a fun – and challenging – race. It felt great to be “back in the saddle” (does anyone say that anymore? Am I in a Western movie?) and it was exciting to do something so different, but I think I’ll leave the trail running to people with much better coordination and ankle strength than me.

If you’ve never been trail running before, trust me when I tell you that if you are as clumsy as moi, you could find yourself twisting and turning your ankles more than Gumby in the hands of a 2-year-old.

In other news, I paid more attention to my food and water yesterday and guess what? It totally paid off. Looks like all that business about “proper fuel for your body” isn’t a bunch of hocus pocus after all. Huh.

I had a 3-mile run scheduled and I did the same route as I did a few days ago. And lucky day, I shaved over 1.5 minutes off my time! Not too shabby for dodging mud puddles in the pouring rain, eh?

Here I am right after my run. Normally I’d have to admit that it’s sweat I’m covered in, but nope. That is 100% pure Pacific Northwest rain, folks. I actually really enjoy running (and singing) in the rain, to be honest.

Well, except for that fateful time I ran the Portland Marathon, but that’s another story for another day, my friends.

And the very best part of all is that I am slow, and I don’t care. Not one single bit.

It’s exciting for me to see myself getting faster, but only because that means I’m getting STRONGER.

I will never – ever – set a time goal for my races because if I finish just ONE MINUTE after a time that I set, will that mean that I’ve “failed”? Hello! No thanks! I just want to finish and be able to give myself a pat on the back for not giving up.

Slow and steady will always win the race.*

*Disclaimer: well, it will always win MY race. This girl is nothing if not slow and steady. This girl? Well, she’s another story entirely, but this isn’t her blog. It’s my blog.

Slow And Steady Girl.

Alright, fine. I’m not always that steady. But slow? I’ve got that down, and I am
OWNING. IT.

In summary, I’ve got “Enjoy a Fun Weekend” and “Ignore The Rain” as the top two things on my to-do list.

What’ve you got going on? I’d love to hear from you!

12 thoughts on “taking a run down marathon lane – #4

  1. Running in the rain has that sort of “Rocky, The Champion” sort of feel, doesn’t it?! As for me, here is what I would like to do: Sort the clothes for goodwill, the clothes that won’t fit until 2013, and bring out all the maternity. Alas, that moment has come and it must get done. Everything else this weekend is lagniappe!

    • Totally!! Good for you on taking the clothing bull by the horns. It’s for a good cause! I can only blame my food baby. I had to google “lagniappe”! It was like that one time I thought you said MEN YAWN not Mignon. 🙂

      • Haha!! Okay – I had a feeling you would not know lagniappe (not Lag-Nap-Pee, rather, Lan-Yap), which is simply– a little something extra or the remaining parts that are not as important. Whatever the definition says, that’s what we mean it to be 😉 If you think that word is hard, a very popular street here is Tchoupitoulas! Good night, ladies!

    • What does lagniappe mean? I can’t even pronounce it. I’m laughing about the GW bc I just came from there and got a bunch of new jizsaw puzzles and stuffed toys for the mutt and such. Sometimes I drop my stuff off in the back and go in the front and start looking for things I probably don’t need…but I have fun doing it. The best part is when I am looking for a particular item and find it and it’s like new. Yay! How are you feeling with this one? XOXO

      • Ok, I googled it – I would never have said it correctly let alone spell it right!
        xoxo

      • Right – just as we clear out the clostes…they get filled right back up! Clearing out clothes was my only progress, but much needed. And some shoes that needed to be laid to rest (sniff). I love 2nd hand items, they have great kid consignment shops here. But with so many girl cousins, I dont need to get many clothes for this one…or the next! The 1st trimester was reallly terrible – death nausea. Now I feel normally pregnant (tired, emotional, hungry 😉 ) Miss you both! xox

  2. Pingback: taking a run down marathon lane – #5 | just begin from here.

  3. Pingback: taking a run down marathon lane – #6: THE PR EDITION!!! | just begin from here.

  4. Pingback: taking a run down marathon lane – #7 | just begin from here.

Don't leave a reply tomorrow when you could leave a reply today!

