following through on friday.

You know that expression, “The road to hell is paved with good intentions”?

It seems a bit harsh, don’t you think?

I get what they’re trying to say. I even googled it to learn more (there are plenty of heated debates out there, if you’re interested).

But I think that we’ve all been guilty of having the best of intentions, and not following through. In fact, it could be argued that we are a society made up of well-intenders.

Just look at how many gyms across the country bank on this very fact on or around January 1st every year.

I have been caught in the start-stop, start-stop trap more than a few times and today was no exception. I had a short 3 mile run scheduled. As soon as my feet hit the floor this morning, I had every intention of putting on my running shoes and getting out the door. Just getting it DONE.

But then, things like

deadlines and
breakfast and
a sick kid and
a sick husband and
a nap during lunch and
really comfy pajamas that I wasn’t ready to take off

got in the way. I never INTENDED for my run to be pushed to the side. It just happened. It wasn’t MY fault, it was my to-do lists fault.

Right?

After beating myself up for awhile over my lack of motivation and discipline, I decided that a pizza dinner with my loves would surely be just the pick-me-up I was needing.

We headed to this great local place, right on the water:

Don’t you just love finding little hidden gems like this? They’re such a treasure.

Speaking of finding things, guess what I found after dinner?

The courage to follow-through. On my to-do list. On my goals. On myself.

Was I looking forward to doing a run with a sloshing belly full of pizza and wine? No.

Were my pajamas calling my name the minute I walked in the door? Yes.

Did I listen? No.

Did I have to walk a few times and talk my belly out of evicting said pizza and wine? Yes.

And guess what? I feel pretty great about my decision to get off my butt and do this.

What I’ve set out to do is entirely for me. I’m not in this to win big prizes, get flashy sponsors, or make lots of money.

(What? No one is looking for a spokesmodel whose husband can walk faster than she can run? They’ll be sorry!)

And the only person I will let down if I don’t follow through with this is me. I don’t know about paving any roads (or blazing any trails for that matter) but I know that I do have every good intention of honoring what I’ve set out to do.

And also? I have a 7-mile run scheduled for this weekend, and it’s written smack in the middle of my to-do list. Right below “Believe in myself.”

And I plan to put a big ol’ X right through both of these tasks.

P.S. I also wanted to give a little shout out to all the great dads out there as we head into Father’s Day weekend! The little lady and I are heading to this relaxing place with our handsome and amazing fella for some well-earned RNR.*

*Disclaimer: ok, so this was *technically* supposed to be our Mother’s Day weekend getaway but a certain someone was sick (not naming any names, but it was me).

Dear husband: thank you for all that you do, every day. When I see the beautiful way you parent our child, I am speechless. And also? Thank you for this little getaway re-do. Let’s just dub this one Parent’s Weekend and call it a wash, how’s that sound?

What are your plans for the weekend? I’d love to hear from you!

6 thoughts on “following through on friday.

Don't leave a reply tomorrow when you could leave a reply today!

