it’s a triple-win wednesday!

WIN #1:

If your name happens to be Amy, you just won yourself a case of these bad boys!

Trust me, after you bite into the first tasty little morsel you’ll be all, “Mega Millions, Shmega Millions, I already hit the jackpot, baby!”

Just to prove that the contest was entirely fair and unbiased, here is photographic evidence of the highly scientific methods employed in selecting the winner:

WIN #2:

I ran 6 whole miles IN A ROW today!!!!

I realize this is no big deal for many of you distance runners out there, and you may have read this post where I mention I’ve done several marathons in the past, so what’s the big deal about six little miles?

Well, I’ll tell you what the big deal is. When your activity level goes steadily down (from, say, marathon-running to couch-reclining, just as an example) and your age goes steadily up (let’s call it mid-20’s to mid-30’s, you know, for arguments sake) it’s the small victories that deserve celebration.

And this, my friends, is a victory worth celebrating! There is an old saying about “if you don’t want to start over, then don’t stop.”

I am totally adding that to my permanent to-do list. With a Sharpie marker.

Just to prove (to myself, mostly) that I actually did 6 full miles, no corner-cutting, here are the stats that my hub downloaded for me from his cool new Father’s Day gift:

Now, if you’ve never had a chance to visit this lovely island we call home, allow me to describe it for you, in haiku:

island of bainbridge 
your beautiful green rolling
hills that never end 

I was so ready to give myself a double-high-five for finishing:

And here’s some cute runner I found to keep me company and distract me with streaming commentary on kayaks, otters, bay windows, flowers, running shoes, front porches, and a myriad of other interesting observations.

I just wish I could have mustered more lung capacity to do more than grunt my replies, though. Sorry, love.

WIN #3:

Washingtonians found out yesterday that Referendum 74 will be added to November’s ballot in our good state. This referendum, if passed, will make the right to marry available to EVERYONE.*

*Disclaimer: alright, alright. By EVERYONE, they are referring to ALL HUMANS. It’s not currently open to ALL MAMMALS, but if you still want to throw this kind of party:

I am definitely not here to judge.

Speaking of judgments, in this pivotal time in our history, it bears repeating:

Kindness is key. Love comes naturally. Hatred is learned.

This is not a Politically-Driven Blog. It’s a Hate-Free, Pro-Love Blog. There’s a difference.

And also? It will hopefully, some day, be a Procrastination-Free Blog. But for now, I am going to work on accepting myself for who I am, despite my shortcomings.

Take, for instance, the fact that I only crossed 2 things off my to-do list of 367 today. It’s a start.

Baby steps.

What’s something you did today that you’re proud of? I’d love to hear from you!

14 thoughts on “it’s a triple-win wednesday!

  1. Good job love, super proud of you. Where are those rolling hills you speak of, seems to me that they are never ending upwards. Thanks for the awesome GPS watch. Why am I only wearing one glove in that picture? Speaking of gloves and awesome gifts, those gloves are being retired after 10 years and countless miles. One of my prized running staples for a long time courtesy of my also awesome and loving Mom/Pat. Thanks for those and you, both of you.

  2. SIX MILES!! And you have run marathons before?! I’m so impressed. And in awe. But, I think the whole giveaway was rigged. Hmm, what is something I did today that I am proud of? Sadly, I can’t think of one damn thing. I’ll get back to you.

  3. I’m proud that after being sinus sick all of May I am finally getting my butt outta bed an hour early (I HATE to exercise and especially in the morning!) and walking my mutt and then this morning even went to the gym for a little workout on the machines after the walk.
    I’m happy that all my bowling practice seems to be helping my average a bit and bowling is such a fun way to exerise. I find that if I bowl six games in less than an hour I do sweat!!
    XOXO Mom

  4. Super-awesome job Mis! You’ve got great endurance!! Can’t top that, but I ran 3 miles of hills today with a 30 pound vest – looked like a human bomb. Wish I had a photo to share. 🙂 But what’s better…I used the app – myfitnesspal for the first time. It’s awesome! Do you have it?

    • WHOA! That is awesome!! I haven’t used that app yet – I will have to check it out. Did you change accounts? Now you are “Lfryar” and before you were “1/3 of the coolest chicks EVER!” (which you still are, of course! 🙂

  5. Chris just gave me a running watch too (for graduation, not fathers day :)) – I love it! Doesn’t it make you want to do a run just so you can look at your stats and see how you did?

Don't leave a reply tomorrow when you could leave a reply today!

