mama said there’d be days like this.

You know the kind of day I’m talking about:

The kind that starts with another trip to the grocery store at 7am because exactly 50% of the items you bought last night in a jet-lagged state were somehow left on the conveyer belt and never even made it into your car and then ends with two live chickens in a cat carrier being transported from a Starbucks parking lot in Seattle across Puget Sound to your chicken coop?

You know, that kind of day?

Let me back this up a little bit:

The grocery store run is fairly self-explanatory. That is exactly how it went down. As I was preparing Olivia’s lunch this morning (she has requested caprese salads, her newfound love from Italy) I realized the tomatoes had gone MIA.

Followed by the basil.

And the garlic for tonight’s dinner.

And the bananas.

And the list goes on.

I searched high and I searched low. Then I searched the grocery list and found that while all of these items made it into and out of our cart, not a single one was actually purchased.

It’s one of life’s mysteries. Far be it for me to question.

And then, the chickens. Oh-for-the-love. THE CHICKENS.

While we were relaxing in Italy, we received this note from our neighbors:

Go ahead and say it. The universe is definitely trying to send us a sign that we should really reconsider this whole chicken farming endeavor.

Should we listen? YES.

Do we listen? NO.

Enter Craigslist. After a quick search, I find a woman selling not one but TWO chickens that look just like our beloved Goldie Hen (RIP).

Do we need two more chickens? NO.

Do we get them both anyway? YES.

And this is how I arrived at the most awkward, I-feel-like-I’m-commiting-some-strange-crime exchange of goods-for-money that I have every experienced.

To make matters worse, the drug-sniffing dog at the ferry terminal kept stopping at my car and making several repeat passes before moving on. I have no idea if there are poultry-transport laws in the good state of Washington, but if there are, I surely broke all of them.

After all of these (mis)adventures, I did manage to get my scheduled run in for the day: it was another 3-miler. I did the same route in the same time (38 minutes).

In summary, Mom, if you’re reading this, I’m just going to come right out and say it. I forgot to call my doctor today about my hip. It has been moved to TOP POSITION on tomorrow’s to-do list.

What did you have for lunch today? I had, um, chicken and I feel so wrong.
But still, I’d love to hear from you! 

10 thoughts on “mama said there’d be days like this.

  1. Of course I’m reading this and I’ll be very happy to hear what your Dr has to say…tomorrow (or else – does that even work anymore??). I also had chicken for lunch and felt just fine about it until I read this blog and heard about poor Goldie #1. But the new Goldie’s are quite pretty and I have never been a real live chicken fan but I could convert for O’s sake. I love this blog and had a good laugh even tho I may have already heard this earlier – that’s just one more good thing about losing one’s memory. Love you! xoxo Mom

  2. Poor goldie! At least I have a cute pic of us with her. The new ones are cute too, but seem a little plump 🙂

    • Ha ha! Let’s hope that means they are full of eggs! We’re done with all of these freeloaders who are all take-take-take and no give-give-give! 🙂 Do you see why we should not be chicken farmers?! Though we did shed a few tears (mostly Olivia) over Goldie.

    • Oh Trish! I know you could! Just do what I do and visualize there is a cold beverage of choice dangling on a string in front of you. Works every time. It’s Mommy’s carrot, people. No judging.

  3. I LOVE that the drug dog kept stopping at your car! I have been to the grocery not once, but TWICE since being preggers for #2 and have forgotten my wallet (and to discover this at the end of check out). I had two meetings back to back today with meals included, so it has been a fattening day full of cookies, pastries, hashbrowns, Cool Ranch Doritos (full fat), and lemonade (not Crystal Light!).

Don't leave a reply tomorrow when you could leave a reply today!

