eating food and making friends

If you’ve been reading my posts you might know by now that I like love food. Traveling the world is about seeing new things, experiences new cultures, and trying new foods.

Lots and lots of food.

Why yes, this IS what a carb-heavy breakfast looks like. Thanks for asking.

Pizza everyday? Why yes, thank you, don’t mind if we do. Yes those ARE pieces missing. I forgot to take a picture before we started eating.

Pre-dinner snack? Yes, please.

Your lasagna comes in both a pesto AND a red sauce? Why yes, we will try both. Grazie.

DO we want dessert? Well, I think it would be rude not to.

I will never be a skinny person – or traveler – who somehow sustains on small salads and a glass of water. I savor it all with reckless abandon, and I enjoy every minute of it.

What I also enjoy – possibly more than food (is that possible?) – is seeing the world through my child’s eyes. Olivia – our 5 year old – is, quite simply, a great traveler.

We got very very lucky and we don’t take it for granted for one minute. Ever.

We are able to see the world because she has proved to us that she can ebb and flow with the ever-changing tides.

When we were stuck in Europe two years ago because Mother Nature decided to show us who’s in charge by erupting a volcano in Iceland and shutting down all of Europe, she rolled with the situation and made the most of it.

We learned a lot from her in that moment, and she continues to teach us things when we pay attention:

You can make friends with anyone if you show them a smile and an open heart.

There is something beautiful to see everywhere you go if you are willing to look closely.

It could be said that traveling with small children is a challenge.

I would argue that trying this without children makes things much less joyful, unique, new and interesting.

It is all in your perspective.

In closing, if there is such a word for “to-do list” in Italian, I have yet to learn it.

What is something new that you learned today? I’d love to hear from you!

9 thoughts on “eating food and making friends

  1. Yes, it is amazing how “bubble”, “ball”, “food”, etc., etc. translates to any language with a simple gesture, laugh, nod or smile and there is suddenly no barrier at all. Incredible how common ground can be found even when you are five. Lots of people, including myself at times, could learn from that.

    And by the way, that is pretty much a “carb-heavy” day, not just “breakfast.” But so good. I’m game for another one of those pizzas right now actually. Or maybe the pasta, or pastry, or desert…Wow, I really am still hungry.

  2. I am glad for you that O travels so well. And what a good time to share with your blog buddies how during that Ash delay in Paris she picked up on the F-bomb that either/or Mom/Dad let slip and she used it in such an adorable, appropriate manner. Ok, maybe only Grandma’s can find that story so awesome… XOXO Mom

  3. You’re killing me with all this food………………………..as I eat my “deck of cards” portion of my Nutrisystem :o( LOVE reading your blogs. Please keep them coming. Kids had their last day of school today. Tomorrow (Sat) they’re running a 1 mile race downtown. Taylor had her graduation ceremony last night. And lastly, your card for Ron arrived today (Fri). Keep having fun!! Love you all!

  4. I wonder if it is my pregnancy hormones that made this one nearly tear up! What a sweet “piece of the pie” to share. You have reminded me that, no matter what people say, Michael and I have no plans to vacation without our daughter. We are eager to share the experiences together and if that means resting for a nap, so be it!

Don't leave a reply tomorrow when you could leave a reply today!

