judgments and j.lo

Oh boy, here we go with confessions again. Hang on to your hats.

After our dinner date at Purple the other night, we went up to Capitol Hill to go dancing here.

There, I said it. We like to go cut a rug together and pretend we are still in the prime of our youth without a worry, a mortgage or a Eurovan to our name.

I like going here with my fella. I like the atmosphere, the music, the way John’s eyes light up when they play the latest J.Lo hit and he whispers “I love this song” and starts mouthing all the words.

But do you know what I love the most? Knowing that every time we go there, no matter what we are wearing, how awkward and Elaine-like my moves might be, or the fact that I ask for a drink with Malibu rum in it, no one ever gives us a sideways look.

And we are never judged.

This is the kind of place that embraces “come as you are” with open arms. It is a safe haven for every person in every walk of life and it does not matter if you are a Democrat, a Republican, if you like vinyl body suits, bowties and stilettos, or neon green leg warmers.

And it definitely does not matter who you choose to be with, as long as you are bringing your open mind, your “be kind to others” spirit, and your dancing shoes.

Yes, this also happens to be a venue that is popular in the LGBT community. You are sure to encounter every combination of relationship here: single, gay, straight, and everything in between.

And the irony is not lost on me: here is a population of individuals that usually rank at the top of the list when it comes to being ostracized and persecuted in our society and yet when we step foot into a place where they enjoy getting together, we are embraced.

Without judgment.

I can’t (and won’t) speak for anyone else, but as for me, this expression of acceptance is one that will continue to inspire me to be a less judgmental, better person. And it is the message we strive to teach our little person.

Kindness is key. Love comes naturally. Hatred is learned.

I realize this is a hot topic right now. It’s in the news. Our president is talking about it. Our friends on Facebook are talking about it. My opinions may not be the same as yours, and that’s ok. What really matters most to me is that regardless of who we are and what our beliefs may be, we all deserve our own version of happiness.

I am happily married to the love of my life. Whoever you choose to commit yourself to and if and who you choose to marry has no bearing on that fact.

Your choices do not jeopardize the sanctity of my marriage. Putting an empty milk carton back in the fridge, on the other hand, is another story.*

*Disclaimer: I am much more likely to be guilty of this offense than John is. Sorry, babe. Apologies in advance.

In short, I am definitely going to start looking for our luggage before we leave for our trip on Thursday. It is one of the top 10 things on my list. For tomorrow.

What is something that you feel passionate about?

17 thoughts on “judgments and j.lo

  1. Yes, that place is so fun. I love going there with you. Regarding the music though, really Britney is tops on my list, Nicki Minaj has some good stuff too, ok, let’s face it I just love you and to dance with you and love dance music. And to do it all in a place where you can literally be whatever you want is awesome. Enough.

    Oh and the luggage, it is in the closet in the spare room. I’ll get it. What number are you on for your list today, Love?

  2. I’m sure there was lots of Lady Gaga in there too! Look forward to cutting a rug with ya. 🙂

  3. Another great post – obviously from a place of passion. I too am very passionate about equal rights for all (permanent boycott on the ever yummy Chic-Filet). This is hard coming from a place where we are judged on the highschool we attended, our zip code, and the preschool we send our children. New Orleans, for its beloved French Quarter ‘colorful characters’, has many socio-cultural biased flaws. In short many believe, I love you being flamboyount on Mardi Gras, but don’t expect a dinner invitation.

    • Julie, I so appreciate you taking the time to share your honest candor! It’s interesting to hear how different – and similar – things are in different parts of the country. While the old adage of “the more things change, the more things stay the same” may often ring true, good for you for sticking to what you believe is right – even when the right thing is not always the easiest thing! xo

  4. After having a child born with a significant birth defect that is very obvious and makes her stand out from everyone else I too feel passionately about acceptance!!!! No matter what makes a person different they are who they are and are deserving of the same treatments as those we define as “normal”. On a separate note….. I too love going out and dancing!!! I love to sing along loudly and poorly and dance like a spazzzzzzzzz in front of everyone!! Am I a dork??? Yup but I can always guarantee I am the life of a party and we will always have a great time together!!! I am wiling to laugh at myself always……. And isn’t that what life should be about??? Pure acceptance!!!! Through and through!!!!!

  5. M2 – Thank you for spreading the word on equal rights and accepting each other as we are!! I doubt it will be fixed in my lifetime but baby steps are good….
    XOXO Mom

  6. Pingback: it’s a triple-win wednesday! | just begin from here.

Don't leave a reply tomorrow when you could leave a reply today!

