sometimes it IS easy being green.

I can neither confirm nor deny that I’ve reached genius-status with the groundbreaking discovery I just made in the area of green smoothies, but I can be sure there’s been a lot of self-high-fiving at my house tonight.

I can only imagine that this is what scientists feel when they discover a new DNA strand or something, but I digress. I have recently found myself – somewhat surprisingly – to be smoothie-curious. Drinking the (green) kool-aid, if you will. But my best-laid-plans are often sidetracked because I am A) lazy and B) forgetful so I end up either A) being random at best when it comes to smoothie consumption or B) wasting a TON of fresh, organic produce or C) all of the above (always choose C).

Enter my AHA! moment: freeze the smoothie! I have started making what I call a smoothie “base”. It consists of almost all greens (spinach/kale/swiss chard) with a small amount of liquid (unsweetened coconut milk, apple juice or water – whatever I have on hand) and any last scraps of fruit that are dangerously close to meeting their maker. I blend up the “base” and then pour it into ice cube trays. Freeze ’em, pop ’em out and put them all in a big ziploc.

(back in the freezer – this step is critical, people)

Aren’t those the cutest little smoothie cubes you’ve ever seen?

Then when I’m ready to congratulate myself for a job well done with – let’s say – a smoothie, I am SO READY! I just pop a few cubes of green goodness into the blender, add a banana, etc. and voila! The perfect solution for the lazy, forgetful smoothie drinker.

If loving green smoothies is so wrong, I don’t want to be right.

Sometimes it IS easy being green.

(No green frogs were harmed in the making of this post. Or this smoothie.)


2 thoughts on “sometimes it IS easy being green.

  1. Hmm, all my smoothies consist of yogurt, berries and bananas. Is this green stuff tasty? And more importantly, can you add vodka to it?

    • Surprisingly, it IS tasty. If you close your eyes and hold your nose. Seriously though, they’ve grown on me. Plus, it gives me such a warm, fuzzy feeling to do my body good. Re: vodka? Heck, yes!

Don't leave a reply tomorrow when you could leave a reply today!

